top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly Killick-Smit

It's GO Time!

Hello High River! It is Election Day! It seems like yesterday I dropped off my nomination papers and here we are! Today is the day!

These past few weeks have been quite a whirlwind and the opportunity to connect with so many people in our community has been an amazing gift! Be it through work, at play, knocking on doors or answering emails, texts or Social Media, I have enjoyed hearing what everyone has to say, your concerns, your ambitions for our town. The single thread that has emerged from everyone is how much we all enjoy calling this place home. We are truly blessed to live and work here!

I would like to thank my husband Wim, our sons McLaren and Kinley, my parents Ron and Wendy and our friends and family who have supported this journey. Win or lose, the experience has been amazing thanks to their love and support. We have learned so much on this inaugural campaign on what to do, (what NOT to do) and there is more I would have liked to have done but will save that up, regardless of today's outcome.

So whether or not you vote for me, I hope you vote. Municipal government is the best thing to direct democracy you can find and it is not clouded with partisan politics. The people who have thrown their hat in the ring have done so because they want to help our community to grow and remain prosperous. I applaud all the council hopefuls for their courage and ambition to work for the people of High River. Good luck to everyone!

My Greatitude for today is the chance to make a difference. To gratefully seek and bring an attitude and win a seat on our council. For the learning I have done in short order to realize this campaign and for the support of those around me to make it happen. However it turns out, Thank you High River. Thank you very much.


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page